Monday, July 30, 2012

More photo's from the ACTRFS 2012 Awards Night

By popular demand, we are uploading more images from the 2012 ACTRFS Awards Night. 

If you had your picture taken at the photo booth and would like a copy, please don't hesitate to send us through an email to to request your image.

Our Chief Officer Andrew Stark and Manager Community Protection Greg Potts

Dancing the night away to the band Top Shelf who provided great entertainment for the evening.

Mr & Mrs 'Bear'

The Jerrabomberra Brigade

The crew from Molongolo

The Guises Creek Brigade

Guises Creek Captain Dave Wassal and wife Pauline

The Rivers Gang

Tough job Greg but someone has to do it.

Our sponsors from United Aero who also generously donated two joy flights around Canberra

The Gungahlin Brigade

The Hall Brigade

And last but not least, a game for all the family, 'Where's Pottsy?'

Wednesday, July 25, 2012

Our newest Australian Fire Service Medal recipients farewell event.

Below is an extract written about Arthur as part of his AFSM Award.

Mr Arthur Colin SAYER, ‘Gibraltar View’, 369 Tidbinbilla Road, Tharwa ACT 2620
Mr Sayer has been involved in fire fighting in the ACT since 1978. During that time, he has progressed from being a fire fighter, Deputy Captain and Captain with the ACT Parks Conservation Service; a Captain, Group Officer and Deputy Chief Fire Control Officer with the ACT Bushfire Service; and Deputy Chief Officer for the ACT Rural Fire Service. He has been the Rural Liaison Officer for the ACT Rural Fire Service since 2007 and the Captain of the Tidbinbilla Rural Fire Brigade since 2008. Mr Sayer has been involved with the suppression of almost every major bush and grass fire in the ACT since 1985, and for most of these fires he has been appointed to a senior position within the command structure. He is renowned as both an excellent fire tactician and personnel manager during fire suppression operations, always making logical decisions and giving sound instructions to enable the fire to be kept to the smallest possible size. He constantly looks after the welfare and safety of the fire fighters and, for this and his fire fighting expertise, members of the ACT Rural Service hold him in the highest regard. In his current role as Rural Liaison Officer with the ACT Rural Fire Service, his primary function is to provide support and advice to the rural community on bushfire prevention, preparedness, response and recovery measures through the Farm Fire Wise program. Mr Sayer is passionate about this program and the people involved, freely sharing his extensive experience, knowledge and practical advice. This has helped to ensure that the rural community can perform an important role alongside the ACT's fire fighting resources, and has also ensured that the rural community has a reliable and supportive contact within the ACT Rural Fire Service. As the current Captain of the Tidbinbilla Rural Fire Brigade, Mr Sayer is responsible for overseeing the training and operational capabilities of the volunteer members. Through his relatively relaxed leadership style he has the ability to get the best out of these members without appearing authoritarian, and this is much appreciated by the volunteers.

Thursday, July 19, 2012

Candid Shots From The Photo Booth

The photo booth provided by Gary and Alvin once again proved a HUGE hit at the Awards Night.  Check out some of the candid shots!

Sunday, July 15, 2012

2012 Awards Night

On Saturday 7th July, the ACTRFS members joined together to celebrate and acknowledge the achievements and long service of our members.  Prior to presenting the awards, we were entertained by our MC Jeff Garner interviewing our sporting guests Tracey Beatty and Abbey Bishop.  Good luck to Abbey who is representing Australia at the Olympic Games!

Congratulations to all our Awards recipients on the long and dedicated service to the ACT Rural Fire Service!

Minister Corbell, Chief Officer Andrew Stark with our 5 Year Award recipients

Our 10 Year Award Recipients including Minister Corbell who is a recipient himself!

The Jerrabomberra Brigade

The team from the Molongolo Brigade

The Headquarters team.  What is Rohan doing????

The Blues Brothers aka Chief Officer Andrew Stark and Manager Community Protection Greg Potts

The Guises Creek Brigade

The Rivers Brigade

The Gungahlin Brigade

The Hall Brigade

Tracey Beatty, Abbey Biship and our MC Jeff Garner

Greg Potts presenting our guests with a present.

Minister Simon Corbell receiving his 10 Year Award from Chief Officer Andrew Stark

The guys from Top Shelf getting the party started.

Sebastien Rey from the Rivers Brigade receiving his Chief Officer Commendation for Diligent Service with the Minister.